Government

As the City Clerk/Treasurer for the City of Saraland, it is my responsibility to oversee and keep record of all financial and legal documents including accounts payable, Council minutes, ordinances, resolutions, subdivision plats and sewer assessments. I am also responsible for many of the every day happenings within the city.

The City government, as with most governments in the United States, is divided into three branches – legislative, executive and judicial. The Council serves as the legislative branch enacting ordinances (laws). The Mayor is the executive branch. The court system is the judicial branch. Each very important and separate from the other, with its own distinct purpose.

Municipalities within the State of Alabama are governed by laws of the United States of America and the State of Alabama. The Code of Alabama gives guidance toward specific powers and responsibilities of the state, county and local governments. The Ordinances for the City of Saraland are codified and available online at municode.com.

I hope that you will use this website as a useful tool in learning more about the City of Saraland and all of the individual departments. If you have any further questions or concerns, do not hesitate to call me at (251) 675-5103.

Denise Jernigan
Saraland City Clerk

Saraland City Hall Staff

Denise Jernigan
City Clerk
251-675-5103 | djernigan@saraland.org

Judi Smith
Assistant City Clerk
251-375-5353 | jsmith@saraland.org 

Paige Walding
Executive Assistant
251-375-5334 | pwalding@saraland.org

Carlene Herring
Accounts Payable
251-375-5316 | cherring@saraland.org

Julie Johnson
Payroll
251-375-5332 | jjohnson@saraland.org

Christine Purvis
Business Licenses
251-375-5319 | cpurvis@saraland.org

2016 – 2017 Holiday Schedule

Veterans’ Day – November 11, 2016 Friday

Thanksgiving – November 24 & 25, 2016 Thu/Fri

Christmas – December 23 & 26, 2016 Fri/Mon

New Years – December 30, 2016 & Jan 2, 2017 Fri/Mon

Robert E. Lee/Martin Luther King – January 16, 2017 Mon

Mardi Gras – February 28, 2017 Tues

Memorial Day – May 29, 2017 Mon

Independence Day – July 4, 2017 Tues

Labor Day – September 4, 2017 Mon

12 HOLIDAYS