Public Safety

James C. West Public Safety Director

James C. West Public Safety Director

On behalf of myself and the dedicated employees of the Saraland Department of Public Safety, I would like to welcome you to our web page. This site is to promote accessibility and community ownership to our citizens and guests. It is also our way of providing information related to Police and Fire department activities to ensure the greatest amount of community interaction. 

My emphasis is on “together” and “team.” I encourage you to help all of our families by remaining vigilant in your neighborhoods and as you travel through our city. Never hesitate to contact us if you notice anything needing attention or have any ideas regarding how we might better serve each other.       

I am proud to join alongside you as part of the Saraland Team and to serve all of you as the Public Safety Director.

James C. West
Chief of Police
jwest@saraland.org

Press Releases

2 Pascagoula residents arrested in Saraland drug sting

May 15, 2017

The Saraland Police Department Narcotics Unit, with the assistance of the Mobile County Sheriff’s Office Narcotics Units arrested a pair of Pascagoula residents after conducting an operation in Grand Bay on Friday, May 12.

Rube Henry Webb, 42, was arrested on charges of Trafficking Methamphetamine, Distribution of a Controlled Substance, Possession of a Controlled Substance, and Possession of Drug Paraphernalia while 38-year-old Jamie Marie Webb was arrested on the charges of Trafficking Methamphetamine, Distribution of a Controlled Substance, and Possession of Drug Paraphernalia.

The arrests were the result of an operation during which officers recovered approximately two ounces of ICE Methamphetamine, prescription pills, and drug paraphernalia.

Both Rube Webb and Jamie Webb were transported to the Mobile County Metro Jail for processing.

May 10, 2017

Authorities have arrested two people after finding a plethora of drugs in a raid in Saraland.

Officers say they seized nearly five ounces of crystal meth, over an ounce of powder cocaine, several ounces of marijuana, several dozen prescription narcotic pills, and $18,000 in cash.

The investigation into the large-scale illegal drug operation was in collaboration with the Alabama National Guard Counterdrug Program.

Contacts

Emergency – Call 911

To request an officer or file a report
(Non Emergency) – Call (251 )675-5331

Tip Line (215) 459-8477

Public Safety Director/Chief of Police
J.C. West – jwest@saraland.org

Divisions:

Admin/Special Services
Captain Leroy Smith – lsmith@saraland.org

Patrol Commander
Lieutenant Eddie Taylor – etaylor@saraland.org

Criminal Investigations
Sergeant Billy O’dell – bodell@saraland.org
Sergeant James Morton – jmorton@saraland.org
Detective Brian Mims – bmims@saraland.org

Narcotics
Narcotics Tips – narcoticsinfo@saraland.org

Warrants
Sergeant Richard Williams – rwilliams@saraland.org

Public Information Officer
Corporal Gary Cole – gcole@saraland.org

Information Technologies
Sergeant Dan Arnett – darnett@saraland.org